The Disaster Artist at the Tower Theatre

The Disaster Artist

On February 12, 2018, the Disaster Artist will be playing and if you don’t remember much about it well here is backstory to it.

Based on Greg Sestero best selling book, the Disaster Artist, tells about the making of Tommy’s cult classic disasterpiece called ‘The Room’, which is known for the best known bad movie ever made.  Where the movie is on a $6 million budget and managed to not earn a lot of money – only $1,800.  However, they managed to be in some theaters still, whereas people enjoy the bad acting – applauding it and tossing spoons in the theater.

Basically, this was based on true story.  Tommy Wiseau, producer and main star, announced that ‘The Room’ is going to be 3D, which hyped the fans even more.

The location will be in Oklahoma City OK and at the Tower Theatre 425 Northwest 23rd Street

The doors open at 6:30 p.m. and starts at 7:00 p.m.

Tickets are $10


If you miss the movie, it will be playing again on February 15th – same times as above

Photo Credit:

Yarn Donation

Make a difference in the life of a cancer patient! For the next three weeks, Key Club and National Honor Society will be accepting yarn donations to benefit cancer patients at Comanche County Memorial Hospital. Donations will be used by a group whose purpose is simple… to provide a handmade hat to those dealing with chemotherapy. Even the smallest donation will make a difference, so the next time you find yourself in Walmart, JoAnn’s or Hobby Lobby, throw a pack of yarn in that buggy! Every donation big or small, is much appreciated! Yarn may be dropped in room #27 or room #28. Collections will be taken until Friday, February 16th. If you have questions, see Mrs. Rollins , a member of Key Club or NHS. Thank you!….0…1c.1.64.psy-ab..0.5.447…0i13k1j0i7i30k1.0.swWwlHV05mo&safe=active&ssui=on#imgrc=v7QKJeI0z2KZxM:crochet-thick-family-beanie-set

T-Shirt Art Contest.

Elgin JOM is holding its second annual T-Shirt Art Contest. The winning design will be featured on next year’s shirts. Designs should include the word Elgin and feature Native American or tribal design elements. Deadline is this Friday,February 2nd. Cash prizes of $100 for 1st, $50 for second, and $25 for 3rd place will also be awarded.


Elgin Chamber of Commerce Celebration

On February 17, 2018 the Elgin Chamber of Commerce is hosting the Annual Chamber Banquet, celebrating its 50 years, at the Medicine Park Music Hall. Social hour lasts from 5:30 until 6:00 p.m. and dinner is being served right after social hour ends at 6:00 p.m.. The entertainment and live auction will begin at 6:30 p.m..

The Banquet will feature a social, dinner, and Dueling Pianos provided by Dueling Pianos International. A high energy, all request, sing along, clap along, and a Rock ‘N Roll comedy piano show where the audience is just as part of the entertainers/ment.

The Sponsorship Levels go as the following:
Gold Level: $400, includes 8 banquet tickets.
Silver Level: $200, includes 4 banquet tickets.
Bronze Level: $100, includes 2 banquet tickets.
*Individual tickets are being sold at $30 each.

The Contact Information is listed in the photo below.


You can donate any auction items at Liberty Bank located at 8232 SH 17 Elgin, OK. 73538 or at the Elgin Chamber office located at 8209 US Hwy 277, Suite 7 Elgin, OK.  73538.

Picture/information credit: Facebook/Elgin Chamber of Commerce

Slow-Cooker Pulled Pork


Level: Easy


  • 1 Onion, finely chopped
  • 3/4 c. ketchup
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. mustard powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 3- to 4-lb pork shoulder, trimmed of excess fat
  • Coleslaw, for serving
  • Barbecue sauce, for serving
  • buns, for serving


  1. Combine onion, ketchup, tomato paste, apple cider vinegar and spices in the bowl of a slow cooker. Stir until evenly combined. Season with salt and pepper. Add the pork shoulder and toss to coat the meat in the sauce. Cover the slow cooker and cook on high for 5-6 hours, until tender.
  2. Remove pork from slow cooker and transfer to bowl. Shred pork with two forks and toss pork with juices from the slow cooker. Serve on buns with coleslaw.

recipes credit:

Photo credit: and

Sewing Class


On February 6, 2018 Patterson Community Center will be holding a sewing class for youth ages 7 through 17 and senior ages 55 and up. The class will start at 4:30 pm and end April 17, 2018 at 5:30 pm. Join them the first and second Tuesday of the month to learn the basics of sewing. If you have any questions about this sewing class call (580)-581-3485. The address for Patterson Community Center is  4 ne Arlington ave Lawton OK.

Photo credits: